Sini workshop in Birmingham

On the 26 May 2016 I was honoured to attend a talk and calligraphy workshop given by Haji Noor Deen Mi Guangjiang at the Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery. He talked about Sini script, its materials and religious significance and the construction of Chinese characters. I had previously sent Haji Noor Deen an essay I had written on Sini and at the workshop we chatted a little in Mandarin about the script. It was my first time to write in Arabic so I did so with my left hand although the reed pen I used was cut for the right. I will practice more when I get the chance. I also purchased a small piece of teacher Mi’s calligraphy (see below).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

